## CITY OF COON RAPIDS, IOWA MUNICIPAL UTILITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

AUGUST 20, 2013

The Board of Trustees of Coon Rapids Municipal Utilities met at 7:00 A.M., August 20, 2013 as per posted notice and rules of the Board at the Conference Room – "NOC" Network Operations Center, Coon Rapids, Iowa. Trustees present were Ron Brower, Dierk Halverson, Doris Bass, Harold Siegler and Mary Schwaller.

Secretary Honold administered the Oath of Office to Harold Siegler and Mary Schwaller. The Board welcomed Mr. Siegler and Mrs. Schwaller to the Board of Trustees.

Motion by Brower, Second Halverson by with all voting "Aye" to approve the agenda.

Motion by Brower, Second by Halverson with all voting "Aye" to approve the consent items: 7/19/13 Board Minutes, Abstract of Claims #2013-8 in the amount of \$483,630. 65, Financials, Quarterly Reports.

The Board entertained oral requests and communications from the audience.

Manager's Report: Review of Iowa Code Ch. 21 & Ch. 22 Open Meetings/Open Records - RICE Update - Syngenta Mtg. - HMGP Project Update - NIMECA Update - Update on Forward Natural Gas Volume Purchases - Customer Internet Usage - Disconnect Statistics.

The General Manager updated the Board on electrical facility replacements at the Ruan Substation being performed by the joint-owner MidAmerican Energy Company. These facilities were installed in 1979 when the original Neal 4 transmission facilities were constructed. The total cost of the improvements is \$5.23M of which CRMU's share will be approximately \$27,254.

The General Manager and Board discussed how the increase in the amount of communication service calls resulting in issues related to "customer-owned" equipment has escalated to a level such that charging for those types of services is warranted. CRMU will continue to provide free technical support on these types of issues via phone and in person at the office, but will begin charging for these services in September if a service call is requested by the customer.

This notice is given at the direction of the Chairman pursuant to Chapter 28A, Code of Iowa and local rules of said governmental body.

body.	SEAL	
Chairman, Board of Trustees		Secretary, Board of Trustees